Plus de 1 400 Israéliens ont été assassinés

Act Now!

Omer Wenkert

Omer Wenkert s’est rendu au festival de musique Tribe of Nova, près du kibboutz Reim, pour une nuit de musique…

Omer Wenkert

Omer Wenkert s’est rendu au festival de musique Tribe of Nova, près du kibboutz Reim, pour une nuit de musique et de danse sous les étoiles avec son ami d’enfance Kim Damti.

La joie de la nuit a été interrompue au petit matin lorsque les festivaliers ont aperçu des fusées dans le ciel.

Le samedi matin, ce gérant de restaurant de 22 ans, originaire de Gedera, a parlé à sa famille, lui expliquant qu’il y avait tellement de fusées que lui et d’autres festivaliers s’étaient couchés sur le sol pour se protéger. Au bout d’un moment, il les a informés qu’il avait trouvé un abri et que tout allait bien.

Sauf que ce n’était pas le cas.

Il a rapidement envoyé un message à sa mère pour l’informer qu’il y avait des coups de feu. Quelques minutes plus tard, il a envoyé un dernier message déchirant qui disait simplement : « Maman, je suis terrifié ».

Plus tard, au cours de cette terrible journée, des images ont été diffusées montrant Omer battu et agressé par des hommes armés du Hamas, puis transporté dans une camionnette blanche jusqu’à Gaza.

La vidéo a été largement diffusée sur la chaîne Telegram de l’organisation et montre Omer ligoté, battu et allongé à l’arrière de la camionnette, le regard fixé sur la caméra. Kim, l’amie d’Omer, fait partie des plus de 260 fêtards assassinés de sang-froid.

Pour ajouter à la douleur de la famille, Omer souffre de colite (inflammation de la paroi interne du côlon) et a désespérément besoin de médicaments pour contrôler son état. Le Hamas a rejeté un appel de la Croix-Rouge lui demandant de lui remettre ses médicaments.



Danielle Max

Over 1,400 Israelis Were Murdered

Act Now!

Omer Wenkert

The 22-year-old restaurant manager from Gedera spoke to his family on Saturday morning, telling them that there were so many…

Omer Wenkert

Omer Wenkert went to the Tribe of Nova music festival near Kibbutz Reim for a night of music and dancing under the stars with his childhood friend Kim Damti. 

The joy of the night was broken in the early morning as festival goers noticed rockets in the sky. 

The 22-year-old restaurant manager from Gedera spoke to his family on Saturday morning, telling them that there were so many rockets that he and other festival goers were lying on the ground to protect themselves. After a while, he updated them that he had found a shelter and everything was fine.

Except it wasn’t. 

He soon messaged his mother that there was gunfire. A few minutes later, he sent his final, heartbreaking message that simply said, “Mom, I’m terrified.” 

Later on that terrible day, footage emerged of Omer being beaten and assaulted by Hamas gunmen and transported in a white pickup truck to Gaza.

The video was widely shared on the organization’s Telegram channel and shows Omer tied up, being beaten, and lying in the back of the truck, staring into the camera. Omer’s friend Kim was among the more than 260 party goers murdered in cold blood.

Adding to the family’s grief is that Omer suffers from colitis (the inflammation of the inner lining of the colon) and desperately needs medication to keep the condition under control. Hamas denied a Red Cross appeal to hand over his medications. 

But, even in these darkest days, the Wenkert family is doing everything they can to stay positive. “We believe with all our hearts that Omer will return home,” says his mother. “We are preparing the home for his return and praying for his safe return. I have a strong faith that my Omer is coming home. I pray every day; we know he is strong. We wait to embrace him; I already feel his embrace.”

Danielle Max